Blue Sky, Hard Road

Image

Since I learned to drive,

I loved to watch the land fly by,

Learned to drive from Dad,

Jerking forward, halting abruptly,

Someday I would drive,

Drive as far as wheels could fly.

 

 

The vast Pacific,

The vast moment,

Beautiful, elusive horizon,

Destiny before my eyes.

 

 

Leaving quiet desperation,

A secure path,

An unexamined life.

 

 

I casually waved,

Like I was nothing,

 

 

I cried,

Cried at years wasted,

Years wasted on a life not my own,

Tears over road-weary words,

Words of demons, nightmares,

Words of chasing dreams,

And the life I chose.

 

 

Sunlight gleamed off the windshield,

Blue sky, hard road

Blue sky, hard road.

 

 

Crumbling Hartford,

What will winter be like?

Factories gone,

Dusty buildings, soot and blight.

 

 

Friends, family a phone call away,

No Sunday Cowboys games,

No comfort, no familiarity remains.

 

 

Hartford,

Just as cold,

Just as dreary,

In bed, aching lonely.

 

 

So I climbed a mountain,

Wrote until my voice was bold,

Walked until my feet grew cold,

Drove until my story told

Image

4 thoughts on “Blue Sky, Hard Road

Leave a Reply

